Cycling in the Netherlands in the 1950s

As my retrospective mood is here to stay for a while, apparently, I give you this video of wonderful bicyclists of the 50’s Netherlands. It’s oh so pretty. :)

8 Responses to Cycling in the Netherlands in the 1950s

  1. What a lovely video! I used it on my blog, with a few comments. Many thanks!

    • tuvs says:

      Youtube is a great place for treasure-hunting :)
      This video makes me wish that I lived in the 50’s, or that today was more like then…in many ways.

  2. Despite the fact that your blog is new, you’ve managed to turn my head twice. I’ve linked to your blog. You are invited to link to http://bikesocial.blogspot.com/

  3. Hi Tuvs,

    Thanks for the link. I should point out that I am in California, near the Oregon border. Arcata is about 150 km south of the border.

    Your fan,

    Gordon

  4. Looks like you are a true expert. Did you study about the theme? hehe

  5. Marthe says:

    Hi Tuvs!

    Står til forresten?
    I can gladly report that the situation is in many ways still the same in the NL as in the video. Bikes are everywhere and they even look the same as in this clip (!). Parents do, however, have their children in the carrier in the front instead of in the back, though. Called ‘bakfiets’, they do really replace the car for intraurban travel.

    • tuvs says:

      That’s great to hear, Marthe! Denmark and NL are pretty similar I believe. They’re both filled with this nice floating athmosphere :)

  6. SowTeseemop says:

    I am often looking for recent blogposts in the WWW about this issue. Thankz!!

Leave a comment